top of page

Content and Activity Engineering (CAE) 2020


While much of the current research on Artificial Intelligence (AI) is focused on content analysis, the ultimate success of AI also relies on the continuous generation of content. Content & Activity Engineering addresses the ability to retrieve, manage, and create new or new kind of activities as well as content, where 'content' may be structured data, text, video, audio, graphics, dialogue, etc. Example activities include authoring, conversation, gaming, problem solving, e-commerce, virtual and augment reality, social networking, etc. Example content includes structured data, text, image, graphics, video, audio, etc.


Content & Activity Engineering 2020 (CAE 2020), technically sponsored by the IEEE Computer Society, is an international forum for academia and industries to exchange visions and ideas in the state of the art and practice of Content & Activity Engineering, as well as to identify the emerging topics and define the future of CAE..

​TOPICS OF INTEREST​​ include, but are not limited to:​

  • Content retrieval and management

  • Automatic and semi-automatic content generation

  • Authoring tools for all types of content including structured data, text, video, audio, graphics, etc.

  • Computational creativity

  • Modelling and simulation

  • Syntactic and semantic aspects of content and activity

  • Question answering and conversational agents

  • Context modelling

  • Activity generation

  • Incremental problem solving

  • Collaborative problem solving

  • Virtual and augmented reality

  • Gaming and entertainment

  • Social networking

  • E-Commerce and recommendation

  • IoT driven activities and content

  • New types of content and activity

Content & Activity Engineering 2020 Co-Chairs

Giovanni Pilato, Italian Research Council, Italy

Phillip Sheu, University of California, Irvine, USA 

Program Committee

Hamed Alhoori, Northern Illinois University, USA
Diana Andone, Politehnica University of Timisoara, Romania
Cláudio de Souza Baptista, Universidade Federal de Campina Grande, Brazil
Josep Blat, Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Spain
Carlos Bobed, University of Rennes, CNRS, IRISA, Spain
Fernando Bobillo, Universidad de Zaragoza, Spain
Justin Brunelle, MITRE, USA
Richard Burns,West Chester University, USA
Hao Che, University of Texas at Arlington, USA
Simon Clippingdale, NHK, Japan

Sally Cunningham, Waikato University, New Zealand
Mariana Damova, Mozaika, Bulgaria
Minh-Son Dao, NICT, Japan 
Jean-Claude Dufourd, Télécom ParisTech, France
Khaled El-Maleh, Qualcomm, USA
Baltasar Fernández-Manjón, Complutense University of Madrid, Spain

Gerald Friedland, ICSI Berkeley, USA
William Grosky, University of Michigan at Dearborn, USA

Martin Halvey, University of Strathclyde, UK    
Helen Hockx-Yu, University of Notre Dame, USA
Jochen Huber, Singapore University of Technology and Design, Singapore
Charalampos Karagiannidis, University of Thessaly, Greece

Vive Kumar, Athabasca University, Canada
Jack Yiu-Bun Lee, Chinese University of Hong Kong, China

Andreas Lingnau, Humboldt Universität zu Berlin, Germany
Alke Martens, University of Rostock, Germany
Vasileios Mezaris, Centre for Research and Technology-Hellas, Greece
Marcelo Milrad, Linnaeus University, Sweden
Marcio Ferreira Moreno, IBM, Brazil
Mirella Moro, Univ. Federal de Minas Gerais - UFMG, Brazil
Animesh Mukherjee, IIT Kharagpur, India
Christophoros Nikou, University of Ioannina, Greece
Ryutarou Ohbuchi, University of Yamanashi, Japan

Sethuraman Panchanathan, Arizona State University, USA
Symeon Papadopoulos, Centre for Research and Technology-Hellas, Greece
Kyparisia Papanikolaou, School of Pedagogical and Technological Education, Greece    
Abelardo Pardo, University of Sydney, Australia
Elvira Popescu, University of Craiova, Romania
George Polyzos, Athens University of Economics and Business, Greece

Faryaneh Poursardar, Virgina Tech, USA
Maria Paula Queluz, Instituto Superior Técnico, Portugal  
Thomas Risse, University Library Johann Christian Senckenberg, Germany
Marco Roccetti, Università di Bologna, Italy
Demetrios Sampson, University of Piraeus, Greece

Jacob Scharcanski, Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Marcus Specht, Open University, The Netherlands
Pradip Srimani, Clemson University, USA
Shigeo Sugimoto, University of Tsukuba, Japan
Tamara Sumner, University of Colorado Boulder, USA
Ricardo Torres, Institute of Computing, University of Campinas, Brazil
Jenq-Haur Wang, National Taipei University of Technology, Taiwan
Weijia Xu, The University of Texas at Austin, USA
Toshihiro Yamauchi, Okayama University, Japan
Atsuo Yoshitaka, JAIST, Japan

Yongwei Zhu, Institute for Infocomm Research, A*STAR, Singapore

bottom of page